CSE 312: Foundations of Computing II, Autumn 2020

Announcements and Updates

  • [10/4] The weekly office hours schedule has been determined and is available on the Course Staff section of the website. Remember to use the office hours queue and find the relevant office hours on the Zoom tab in Canvas.

Schedule

Week 1
Topic
Materials
Assignments
Week 1
Lecture 1
(Wed, Sept 30)
Introduction
So you think you can count?
Section 1
(Thurs, Oct 1)
Counting Problems
Lecture 2
(Fri, Oct 2)
More Counting
No More Counting Please
Week 2
Lecture 3
(Mon, Oct 5)
More Counting
Lecture 4
(Wed, Oct 7)
Discrete Probability
Conditional Probability
  • Pset1 Due 11:59pm PDT
Pset2 Out PDF LaTeX Template
Section 2
(Thurs, Oct 8)
Probability problems
Probability via coding
Lecture 5
(Fri, Oct 9)
Conditional Probability
Bayes Theorem
Week 3
Lecture 6
(Mon, Oct 12)
Independence
Intro to Random Variables
Workshop 1
(Tues, Oct 6)
Python and Numpy Review
Lecture 7
(Wed, Oct 14)
Expectation
  • Pset2 Due 11:59pm PDT
Pset3 Out PDF LaTeX Template
Section 3
(Thurs, Oct 15)
Naive Bayes Classifier
Lecture 8
(Fri, Oct 16)
Linearity of Expectation
Week 4
Lecture 9
(Mon, Oct 19)
Variance
Independence of RVs
Lecture 10
(Wed, Oct 21)
Application: Bloom Filters
  • Pset3 Due 11:59pm PDT
Pset4 Out PDF LaTeX Template
Section 4
(Thurs, Oct 22)
Discrete Random Variables
Lecture 11
(Fri, Oct 23)
Zoo of Discrete RVs
Sunday Workshop
(Sun, Oct 25)
Pset4 Help
Week 5
Lecture 12
(Mon, Oct 26)
Zoo of Discrete RVs
Lecture 13
(Wed, Oct 28)
Continous RV Basics
Zoo of Continuous RVs
  • Pset4 Due 11:59pm PDT
Section 5
(Thu, Oct 29)
Discrete Zoo Practice
Lecture 14
(Fri, Oct 30)
The Normal RV
Week 6
Lecture 15
(Mon, Nov 2)
Limit Theorems
Lecture 16
(Wed, Nov 4)
Tail Bounds
Homework Break!
Pset5 Out PDF LaTeX Template
Section 6
(Thurs, Nov 5)
Continous RVs
Lecture 17
(Fri, Nov 6)
Distinct Elements
Week 7
Lecture 18
(Mon, Nov 9)
Joint Distributions
No Lecture
(Wed, Nov 11)
  • No Class: Veteran's Day
  • Pset5 Due 11:59pm PDT
Pset6 Out PDF LaTeX Template
Section 7
(Thurs, Nov 12)
Joint Distributions
Lecture 19
(Fri, Nov 13)
Conditional Distributions
Week 8
Lecture 20
(Mon, Nov 16)
Law of Total Expectation
Lecture 21
(Wed, Nov 18)
Covariance and Correlation
  • Pset6 Due 11:59pm PDT
Pset7 Out PDF LaTeX Template
Section 8
(Thurs, Nov 19)
TBD
Lecture 22
(Fri, Nov 20)
Heavy Hitters
Week 9
Lecture 23
(Mon, Nov 23)
Mutlivariate Guassian
Lecture 24
(Wed, Nov 25)
Chernoff Bounds
Even More Inequalities
  • Pset7 Due 11:59pm PDT
Pset8 Out PDF LaTeX Template
Section 9
(Thurs, Nov 26)
  • No Section
No Lecture
(Fri, Nov 27)
  • No Lecture
Week 10
Lecture 25
(Mon, Nov 30)
Maximum Likelihood Estimation
The Beta Random Variable
Lecture 26
(Wed, Dec 2)
Maximum a Posteriori Estimation
Confidence Intervals
  • Pset8 Due 11:59pm PDT
Pset9 Out PDF LaTeX Template
Section 10
(Thurs, Dec 3)
TBD
Lecture 27
(Fri, Dec 4)
Credible Intervals
Introduction to Hypothesis Testing
Week 11
Lecture 28
(Mon, Dec 7)
Application: Multi-armed Bandits
Lecture 29
(Wed, Dec 9)
How to Lie with Statistics
  • Pset9 Due 11:59pm PDT
Pset10 Out PDF LaTeX Template
Section 11
(Thurs, Dec 10)
TBD
Lecture 30
(Fri, Dec 11)
Course Wrapup
Finals Week
No Lecture
(Wed, Dec 16)
No Final!
  • Pset10 Due 11:59pm PDT

Note that content for future lectures is subject to change.

This course website heavily follows the example of the website of CSE373 2019 Spring.