CSE 142, Summer 2020: Calendar

Below is the current calendar for the CSE142 class. Please keep in mind that we are constantly updating this. It should accurately describe the past, but it won't always accurately predict the future. There are links to slides that have been created by our textbook's coauthor, Marty Stepp. These might prove useful for students who either miss lecture or want an extra opportunity to review the material.

Day
Topic
Suppl. Materials
Assignments
Week 1: Printing, Methods, Types
Lesson 1
(Mon, Jun 22)

administrative details

println


Lecture code:

  • Read: 1.1-1.3
Lesson 2
(Wed, Jun 24)

Practice-It!


Extra Videos

  • Read: 1.4-1.5, 2.1
Section 1
(Thu, Jun 25)

basic Java, static methods

Lesson 3
(Fri, Jun 26)

types, expressions, variables


Lecture code:

  • Read: 2.1-2.2
(Sun, Jun 28)
Week 2: For loops
Lesson 4
(Mon, Jun 29)

print vs println

for loops


Lecture code:

Practice-It!


Extra Videos

for loops
  • Read: 2.3-2.5
Tues, Jun 30
Lesson 5
(Wed, Jul 01)

nested for loops

class constants


Lecture code:

  • Read: 2.3-2.5
Section 2
(Thu, Jul 02)

for loops and expressions

Lesson 6
(Fri, Jul 03)

🏝 Holiday 🏝

Week 3: Parameters, Returns, Graphics
Lesson 7
(Mon, Jul 06)

Practice-It!

  • Read: 3.1
Tues, Jul 7
Section 3
(Thu, Jul 09)

parameters and graphics

Week 4: Scanners, If/else, String
Lesson 10
(Mon, Jul 13)

scanner

if/else

cumulative sum


Lecture code:

  • Read: 4.1, 4.2, 4.4
Tues, Jul 14
Lesson 11
(Wed, Jul 15)
  • Read: 4.4-4.5
Section 4
(Thu, Jul 16)

if/else

returns

scanners

Lesson 12
(Fri, Jul 17)

Practice-It:


Extra Videos

  • Read: 4.3, 5.2
(Sat, Jul 18)
Week 5: While Loops
Lesson 13
(Mon, Jul 20)
  • Read: 5.1, 5.2
Tues, Jul 21
Section 5
(Thu, Jul 23)

while loops

random

midterm reivew

Lesson 15
(Fri, Jul 24)

"midterm"

Binary


Lecture code:

(Sat, Jul 25)
Week 6: File Processing
Lesson 16
(Mon, Jul 27)

token-based file processing


Lecture code:

Input files:

  • Read: 6.1-6.2
Tues, Jul 28
Lesson 17
(Wed, Jul 29)

line-based file processing

printstream


Lecture code:

Input files:

  • Read: 6.3-6.5
Section 6
(Thu, Jul 30)

file processing

Lesson 18
(Fri, Jul 31)
  • Read: 7.1
(Sat, Jul 25)
Week 7: Arrays
Lesson 19
(Mon, Aug 03)
  • Read: 7.2-7.6
Tues, Aug 04
Lesson 20
(Wed, Aug 05)
  • Read: 7.3-7.4, 7.7
Section 7
(Thu, Aug 06)

arrays

Lesson 21
(Fri, Aug 07)

classes and objects

instance methods

  • Read: 8.1-8.2
(Sat, Aug 08)
Week 8: Objects + Critters
Lesson 22
(Mon, Aug 10)

constructors

encapsulation

  • Read: 8.3-8.5
Tues, Aug 11
Lesson 23
(Wed, Aug 12)

inheritance

critters

  • Read: 9.1
Section 8
(Thu, Aug 13)

critters

Lesson 24
(Fri, Aug 14)

more critters

polymorphism

ArrayList

  • Read: 9.2-9.3, 10.1
(Sat, Aug 15)
Week 9: Wrap Up
Lesson 25
(Mon, Aug 17)

"final review"

Tues, Aug 18
Lesson 26
(Wed, Aug 19)

critters tournament

Section 9
(Thu, Aug 20)

TA choice

Lesson 27
(Fri, Aug 21)

"final"