CSE 457 Calendar CSE 457

Introduction to Computer Graphics
1998 Fall Quarter

Course Calendar


Here is a rough estimate of how the class will proceed. The final date and assignment deadlines are firm, but the lecture dates are a little more rough:

Week 1:

Mon, Sep 28: Introduction.
Homework #0 assigned.
Wed, Sep 30: Display hardware.
Fri, Oct 2: Visual perception.

Week 2:

Mon, Oct 5: Visual perception.
Homework #0 due!
Home page due!
Project #1 team assignments due!
Homework #1 assigned.
Wed, Oct 7: Color.
Fri, Oct 9: Color, cont'd.

Week 3:

Mon, Oct 12: Color, cont'd.
Project #0 due!
Project #1 (Impressionist) assigned.
Wed, Oct 14: Image processing.
Fri, Oct 16: Image compositing

Week 4:

Mon, Oct 19: Image compositing
Homework #1 due!
Homework #2 assigned.
Wed, Oct 21: 2D transformations.
Fri, Oct 23: 3D transformations.

Week 5:

Mon, Oct 26: 3D transformations, cont.
Project #1 due!
Project #2 (Articulate) assigned.
Wed, Oct 28: Hierarchical modeling.
Project #1 artifact due!
Fri, Oct 30: Hidden surfaces

Week 6:

Mon, Nov 2: Hidden surfaces
Homework #2 due!
Project #3 team assignments due!
Homework #3 assigned.
Wed, Nov 4: Shading.
Fri, Nov 6: Ray tracing.

Week 7:

Mon, Nov 9: Ray tracing, cont.
Project #2 due!
Project #3 (Trace) assigned.
Wed, Nov 11: Holiday!
Fri, Nov 13: Ray tracing, interpolated shading

Week 8:

Mon, Nov 16: Texture mapping
Homework #3 due!
Project #4 team assignments due!
Homework #4 assigned.
Wed, Nov 18: Texture mapping
Fri, Nov 20: Curves

Week 9:

Mon, Nov 23: Curves, cont.
Project #3 due!
Project #4 (Animator) assigned.
Wed, Nov 25: Curves, cont.
Project #3 artifact due!
Fri, Nov 27: Holiday!

Week 10:

Mon, Nov 30: Implementing C2 interpolating splines.
Wed, Dec 2: Surfaces.
Homework #4 due!
Fri, Dec 4: Surfaces, Animation

Week 11:

Mon, Dec 7: Animation, Global illumination.
Wed, Dec 9: Global illumination, final review
Project #4 due!
Thurs, Dec 10: Project #4 artifact due!
Fri, Dec 11: No class - artifact voting in lab

Mon, Dec 14, 2:30-4:20pm: Final!