CSE 373, Summer 2019: Home

Announcements and Updates

  • [8/18] The Final Exam Review Session will be held on August 20 1:10pm in Sieg 134.

Calendar

Week 1
Topic
Materials
References
Assignments
Week 1
Lecture 1
(Mon, June 24)
Introduction and administrivia
Weiss 3.1, 3.2, 3.4
Lecture 2
(Wed, June 26)
Stacks, queues
Weiss 3.5, 3.6, 3.7
  • Project 0 released
Section 1
(Thu, June 27)
CSE 143 review and testing
Lecture 3
(Fri, June 28)
Code analysis
Weiss 3.3
  • Project 1 partner form released
Week 2
Lecture 4
(Mon, July 1)
Formal Big-O definitions, Big-O Proofs
Weiss 1.2, 2.1 - 2.4.2
  • Project 1 partner form due
Lecture 5
(Wed, July 3)
Big-Omega, Big-Theta, cases, and dictionaries
Weiss 2.4.3, 2.4.5,
Please Try Pair Programming
  • Project 0 due
  • Project 1 released
(Thu, July 4)
No section
Section 2
(Fri, July 5)
Asymptotic analysis practice!
  • Exercise 1 released
Week 3
Lecture 6
(Mon, July 8)
Recurrences, Master Theorem, and BSTs
Lecture 7
(Wed, July 10)
Unrolling and tree method
  • Project 1 part 1 due
Section 3
(Thu, July 11)
Algorithm Analysis
Lecture 8
(Fri, July 12)
Recurrences 3 and AVL trees
Weiss 4.3
  • Exercise 1 due
  • Exercise 2 released
Week 4
Lecture 9
(Mon, July 15)
AVL trees
Weiss 4.4.1 - 4.4.2
Lecture 10
(Wed, July 17)
Hashing: chaining
Weiss 5.1 - 5.5
  • Project 2 released
Section 4
(Thu, July 18)
AVL Trees and Hashing
  • Project 1 part 2 due
Lecture 11
(Fri, July 19)
Hashing: open addressing
Weiss 5.1 - 5.3
  • Exercise 2 due
  • Exercise 3 released
Week 5
Lecture 12
(Mon, July 22)
Heaps
Weiss 6.1 - 6.3
Lecture 13
(Wed, July 24)
Heaps: implementation and midterm review
Section 5
(Thu, July 25)
Midterm Review
Exam
(Fri, July 26)
Midterm Exam! :)
Week 6
Lecture 14
(Mon, July 29)
Sorting 1
Weiss 6.1 - 6.3
Lecture 15
(Wed, July 31)
Sorting 2
  • Project 2 due
Section 6
(Thu, August 1)
Heaps and Sorting
Lecture 16
(Fri, August 2)
Graphs 1 (intro, BFS, DFS)
  • Exercise 3 due
Week 7
Lecture 17
(Mon, August 5)
Dijkstra's Algorithm
Lecture 18
(Wed, August 7)
Kruskal's Algorithm and Disjoint Sets 1
Section 7
(Thu, August 8)
BFS, Dijkstra's, Kruskal's
Lecture 19
(Fri, August 9)
Disjoint Sets 2
  • Project 4 out
  • Exercise 5 out
Week 8
Lecture 20
(Mon, August 12)
Array Disjoint Sets, Prim's
Lecture 21
(Wed, August 14)
Topological sort, SCCs, DFS
Section 8
(Thu, August 15)
Dijsoint Sets, Prim's, SCC, Topo sort
Lecture 22
(Fri, August 16)
Graph Modeling, P/NP 1
Week 9
Lecture 23
(Mon, August 19)
P/NP 2
  • Project 4 due
  • Exercise 5 due
Lecture 24
(Wed, August 21)
Final review
Exam
(Thu, August 22)
Final exam part 1 - in section
Exam
(Fri, August 23)
Final exam part 2 - in lecture

Note that content for future lectures is subject to change.