CSE 311

The aim of this course is to introduce students to the shared language and problem solving toolkit of computer science. These are required background for further computer science courses and indepensible for tackling difficult, real-world computing problems.


Instructors: James Wilcox (he/him or they/them, jrw12 at cs) and Kevin Zatloukal (he/him, kevinz at cs)

TAs: Danny Agustinus, Ben Akrish, Sparsh Binjrajka, Jacob Berg, Grace Chen, Raymond Guo, Yusuf Hanafy, Shreya Jayaraman, Angela Lee, Mitchell Levy, Kenneth Ma, Alysa Meng, Youssef Taleb, Aria Tang, Claire Tao, Davin Tjia, Thalia Tsai, Adina Tung, Yadi Wang, Tom Wu, and Cypress Zhang.

Contact Info: Please use the message board whenever possible. The answer to your question is likely to be helpful to others in the class, and by using the discussion board, it will be available to them as well. For grading or other private matters, you can make a private post on the message board. For urgent issues, the best approach is to email the entire staff at cse311-staff at cs, which includes all instructors and TAs.


All course activities will take place in person.

Lectures: We have lectures on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. For section A students, lecture will take place from 10:30-11:20am in SMI 120. For section B students, lecture will take place from 1:30-2:20pm in CSE2 G20. The afternoon lecture will be recorded.

Sections: We have quiz sections on Thursdays. See the time schedule for times and locations. Sections are managed by the following TAs:

  • Section AA: Yadi Wang (yadiw at cs) and Angela Lee (leeang22 at cs)
  • Section AB: Aria Tang (tangari at cs) and Claire Tao (taocla17 at cs)
  • Section AC: Jacob Berg (jacob33 at cs) and Davin Tjia (davin05 at cs)
  • Section BE: Tom Wu (zw237 at cs) and Danny Agustinus (dannyagu at cs)
  • Section AD: Youssef Taleb (yben at cs) and Yusuf Hanafy (yhanafy at cs)
  • Section AE/BD: Grace Chen (chengra at cs) and Alysa Meng (menga at cs)
  • Section BA: Raymond Guo (rpg360 at cs) and Kenneth Ma (kwyma at cs)
  • Section AF: Mitchell Levy (mlevy1 at cs) and Cypress Zhang (xiaopz2 at cs)
  • Section BB: Shreya Jayaraman (shreyaj at cs)
  • Section BF: Sparsh Binjrajka (sbinj at cs) and Adina Tung (adinat at cs)
  • Section BC: Thalia Tsai (thalit at cs) and Ben Akrish (bakrish at cs)

Office Hours: These will be held in person throughout the week. See the course calendar for times and locations.